St Andrew’s United Reformed Church, Cheam
About us
Contact us
News
What's on
Ministry
Worship
Mission
For members

To know Christ
and to make
Christ known

 

St Andrew’s • Cheam
UNITED REFORMED CHURCH

St Andrew’s prayer diary

Don’t worry about anything, but in your prayers ask God for what you need, always asking him with a thankful heart. Philippians 4:6 GNT

Sheila May

This diary has been created by Sheila May to help us focus our prayers on matters that mean a lot to us.

When we bring our prayers to God, can we really think about and maybe find out information from the internet or publications so we are more informed and can pray more powerfully? Think about the subject of the day and try to relate personally with it: is there something we should be doing, or is it something you want to find out about? Try speaking to others at St Andrew’s as we all have different knowledge to share.

About this week’s prayer topic

First of all, then, I urge that petitions, prayers, requests and thanksgivings be offered to God for all people. 1 Timothy 2:1 GNT

UNHCR seeks US$210 million to help refugees risking death, rape, arbitrary detention, forced labour and starvation as they travel towards the Mediterranean.

Today, Monday 14 October 2019, please pray for:
UNHCR working on the ground to delivering life-saving assistance including water, food, medicine, blankets, warm clothes, diapers and hygiene supplies. By helping refugees in surrounding areas they try to reduce the numbers of desperate people resorting to people smugglers.

And in the days to come please pray for ...

Refugees
Tue 15 Oct The Refugee Council, which is a UK charity founded in 1951. It works directly with refugees supporting them to rebuild their lives.
Wed 16 Oct Refugee Action, which for 30 years has been standing up for people who have fled persecution, violence and harassment. See how they do this on their website.
Thu 17 Oct UNICEF, which focuses on the dangers facing children including violence, exploitation, abuse, disease, hunger, war, conflict and natural disasters.
Fri 18 Oct Save the Children, which works worldwide to save children’s lives, fight for their rights and help them fulfil their potential.
Sat 19 Oct Amnesty International, which works to protect people wherever justice, freedom, truth and dignity are denied. A global movement of over 7 million people, it is the world’s biggest human rights organisation.
Sharing our Christian faith
Sun 20 Oct The Bible Society.
Mon 21 Oct Churches Together in Sutton and Cheam.
Tue 22 Oct URC Commitment for Life and Christian Aid.
Wed 23 Oct Scripture Union, bringing the Bible to young people and children.
Thu 24 Oct Our chapel, open weekdays for public use. May the local community feel welcome to come in.
Fri 25 Oct Premier Christian Radio and other Christian radio stations around the world.
Sat 26 Oct Southern Synod officers Revd Nicola Furley-Smith (Moderator), Revd Derrick Dzandu-Hedidor (Synod Clerk) and Revd Andy Twilley (training and development).
Charities and those with influence
Sun 27 Oct Tearfund, tackling poverty. Its call is to follow Jesus where the need is greatest
Mon 28 Oct Fair trade and Traidcraft, helping farmers in developing countries.
Tue 29 Oct Political leaders in parliament and at local level: may they lead with wisdom and compassion.
Wed 30 Oct World Presidents and Prime Ministers.
Thu 31 Oct Religious leaders of all faiths.
Fri 1 Nov Janis and Laurie as they work with Streams of Mercy in Africa and India.
Sat 2 Nov Ram Gidoomal and Rosey Johnson working with the charity South Asian Concern.

Scripture quotations marked GNT are from the Good News Translation in Today’s English Version - Second Edition.
Copyright © 1992 by American Bible Society. Used by Permission.