St Andrew’s United Reformed Church, Cheam
St Andrew’s Cheam
To know Christ and to make Christ known

St Andrew’s prayer diary

About the prayer diary

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Romans 12:12 GNT

Sheila May

This diary has been created by Sheila May to help us focus our prayers on matters that mean a lot to us.

When we bring our prayers to God, can we really think about and maybe find out information from the internet or publications so we are more informed and can pray more powerfully? Think about the subject of the day and try to relate personally with it: is there something we should be doing, or is it something you want to find out about? Try speaking to others at St Andrew’s as we all have different knowledge to share.

Today, Sunday 25 February 2018, please pray for:
Tearfund: tackling poverty. Its call is to follow Jesus where the need is.

And in the days to come please pray for ...

Supporting communities worldwide
Mon 26 Feb Fairtrade Fortnight: supporting farmers and workers get fair prices for their food.
Tue 27 Feb Traidcraft: the home of fair trade products.
Wed 28 Feb Mission Aviation Fellowship has over 130 planes with which to support agencies reach out of the way places. In Liberia, a very wet country with swamps, a 3 day journey can be done in 2 hours by plane.
Thu 1 Mar Our mission partner Bibi Nedellec with Wycliffe Bible Translators.
Fri 2 Mar Christian Solidarity Worldwide working for religious freedom through advocacy and human rights in such places as Nigeria, Cuba, Pakistan and China.
Sat 3 Mar The persecuted church worldwide.
Those working for St Andrew’s
Sun 4 Mar Our church staff: Stephen Riley, Christy Perry and Katharyne Crosse.
Mon 5 Mar Our Church Secretary, Nigel Macdonald, the Management Committee and Church Treasurer, Alan Walls.
Tue 6 Mar Our stewards and welcoming team.
Wed 7 Mar Our Elders, pastoral visitors, and Pastoral Coordinator, Jenni Dickinson.
Thu 8 Mar Our flower ministry as a reflection of God’s Creation.
Fri 9 Mar Our organist, Aelred Smuland, the choir and the worship band, sharing music as a part of God’s creativity.
Sat 10 Mar Our Interim Moderator, the Revd Martin Ferris.
Poverty
Sun 11 Mar Oxfam, which provides goats, chickens, seeds, bees and clean water so communities can grow their own food.
Mon 12 Mar World Vision, the largest children’s charity bringing hope to millions of children in hard places as a sign of God’s unconditional love.
Tue 13 Mar The Hunger Project, a global non-profit strategic organisation committed to end world hunger, working in Africa, South Asia and Latin America.
Wed 14 Mar Unicef, working to protect children worldwide.
Thu 15 Mar The Joseph Rowntree Foundation, an independent organisation working to inspire social change through research, policy and practice.
Fri 16 Mar Christians Against Poverty, freeing people from the grip of UK poverty.
Sat 17 Mar The Trussell Trust foodbank network. In UK about 500,000 people need foodbanks.
Christian organisations
Sun 18 Mar Churches Together in Sutton and Cheam.
Mon 19 Mar Sutton Community Works, including Foodbank, Street Pastors and Sutton Seniors.
Tue 20 Mar URC Commitment for Life and Christian Aid.
Wed 21 Mar Our Prayer Group, and for progress in our vacancy.
Thu 22 Mar Premier Christian Radio and other Christian radio stations around the world.
Fri 23 Mar Sutton Schoolswork: Cat Hubbard for secondary schools and Sarah Skinner for primary schools.
Sat 24 Mar Scripture Union, bringing the bible to young people and children, and for the Bible Society.
Spiritual Growth at St Andrew’s
Sun 25 Mar Sunday morning worship.
Mon 26 Mar House Groups: may they grow in faith as they study the Bible together.
Tue 27 Mar All-age service leaders in the way they share God’s love
Wed 28 Mar Wednesday morning prayer group.
Thu 29 Mar Junior Church leaders and children as they share God’s word and love.
Fri 30 Mar Personal and church renewal and growth, on this Good Friday.
Sat 31 Mar The Church library: may the congregation use this to encourage their faith.
Supporting the local community
Sun 1 Apr May we accept the new life Jesus gives us through his resurrection on this Easter Day.
Mon 2 Apr Jumping Jacks and Who let the Dads out: may children and families feel the love that comes from coming to a church group.
Tue 3 Apr Local nursing homes Willow Lodge and Eothen for staff, residents and Sunday services.
Wed 4 Apr Jelly Beans: for children and teachers as they learn in a Christian environment.
Thu 5 Apr Abbeyfield homes for residents, staff and volunteers.
Fri 6 Apr Housebound members of the congregation and anyone you know who is ill.
Sat 7 Apr Our uniformed organisations for children, young people and leaders.
Supporting communities worldwide
Sun 8 Apr Tearfund, tackling poverty. Its call is to follow Jesus where the need is greatest.
Mon 9 Apr Mission Aviation Fellowship, which has 130+ planes with which to support agencies reach out of the way places. In Liberia, a very wet country with swamps, a 3-day journey can be done in 2 hours by plane.
Tue 10 Apr Bibi Nedellec with Wycliffe Bible Translators.
Wed 11 Apr Fair trade and Traidcraft, helping farmers in developing countries.
Thu 12 Apr Christian Solidarity Worldwide, working for religious freedom through advocacy and human rights in such places as Nigeria, Cuba, Pakistan and China.
Fri 13 Apr The persecuted church, worldwide.
Sat 14 Apr Oxfam, helping the hungry and refugees.
Health
Sun 15 Apr Those with long-term illnesses and those awaiting treatment, and their families.
Mon 16 Apr Those with mental health issues and their families.
Tue 17 Apr The Samaritans, who quote that suicide rates are going down but still at 5,870 in 2016, with the highest rate being for men aged 40-44.
Wed 18 Apr Those with addictions to alcohol, drugs or gambling.
Thu 19 Apr Disabled people and their carers, including many children caring for family members.
Fri 20 Apr Hospices, Macmillan Nurses, Marie Curie nurses.
Sat 21 Apr Hospitals, GPs and all other personnel working to promote health.
Those in positions of influence
Sun 22 Apr Political leaders in Parliament and at local level; may they lead with wisdom and compassion.
Mon 23 Apr World Presidents, Prime Ministers.
Tue 24 Apr Religious leaders of all faiths.
Wed 25 Apr URC Southern Synod Officers: Revd Nicola Furley-Smith (Moderator), John Denison (Treasurer), Revd Derrick Dzandu-Hedidor (Synod Clerk).
Thu 26 Apr The URC, especially General Assembly moderators Revd Kevin Watson and Mr Alan Yates and General Secretary Revd John Proctor.
Fri 27 Apr Parents: give them wisdom to teach children well.
Sat 28 Apr Journalists and media: help them to report news accurately.
Literacy
Sun 29 Apr Those who cannot read or write. According to UNESCO there are about 1 billion non-literate adults, about 26% of the world’s population, and two-thirds are women. 98% live in developing countries.
Mon 30 Apr World Literacy Foundation: a global not-for-profit organisation working to get young people out of poverty through literacy.
Tue 1 May United World Schools, which is dedicated to improve education for some of the world’s poorest children living in remote and marginalised communities.
Wed 2 May Book Aid International, which sends new carefully selected books mainly to Africa.
Thu 3 May The National Literacy Trust, which says that in England 15% or 5.1 million adults have functional literacy of below the 11- year old level. They are locked out the job market and are less able to help educate their children.
Fri 4 May The National Literacy Trust, a charity working in schools and communities to give disadvantaged children literacy skills.
Sat 5 May School teachers in their responsibility to teach our children well.

Scripture quotations marked GNT are from the Good News Translation in Today’s English Version - Second Edition.
Copyright © 1992 by American Bible Society. Used by Permission.