St Andrew’s United Reformed Church, Cheam
About us
Contact us
News
What's on
Ministry
Worship
Mission
For members

To know Christ
and to make
Christ known

 

St Andrew’s • Cheam
UNITED REFORMED CHURCH

St Andrew’s prayer diary

Let your hope keep you joyful, be patient in your troubles, and pray at all times. Romans 12:12 GNT

Sheila May

This diary has been created by Sheila May to help us focus our prayers on matters that mean a lot to us.

When we bring our prayers to God, can we really think about and maybe find out information from the internet or publications so we are more informed and can pray more powerfully? Think about the subject of the day and try to relate personally with it: is there something we should be doing, or is it something you want to find out about? Try speaking to others at St Andrew’s as we all have different knowledge to share.

Today, Thursday 21 February 2019, please pray for:
Housebound members of the congregation and anyone you know who is ill.

And in the days to come please pray for ...

Supporting the local community
Fri 22 Feb The chapel, open weekdays for public use; may the local community feel welcome to come in.
Sat 23 Feb Our uniformed organisations; for children, young people and leaders.
Spiritual growth at St Andrew’s
Sun 24 Feb Sunday morning worship.
Mon 25 Feb House Groups; may they grow in faith as they study the Bible together.
Tue 26 Feb All-age service leaders, in the way they share God’s love.
Wed 27 Feb Our Wednesday morning prayer group.
Thu 28 Feb Our Junior Church leaders and children as they share God’s word and love.
Fri 1 Mar Women’s World Day of Prayer.
Sat 2 Mar Personal and church renewal and growth.
Those in positions of influence
Sun 3 Mar URC ecumenical and interfaith relations.
Mon 4 Mar Religious leaders of all faiths.
Tue 5 Mar URC Southern Synod officers: Revd Nicola Furley-Smith (Moderator), Revd Derrick Dzandu-Hedidor (Synod Clerk) and Revd Andy Twilley (Training and Development).
Wed 6 Mar The URC, especially General Assembly Moderators Revd Nigel Uden and Mr Derek Estill, and General Secretary Revd John Proctor.
Thu 7 Mar Political leaders in Parliament and at local level: may they lead with wisdom and compassion.
Fri 8 Mar World Presidents and Prime Ministers.
Sat 9 Mar School teachers in their responsibility to teach our children well.
Those working for St Andrew’s
Sun 10 Mar Our elders, pastoral visitors, and pastoral coordinator Jenni Dickinson.
Mon 11 Mar Our Church Secretary Nigel Macdonald, the Management Committee, and our Treasurer Alan Walls.
Tue 12 Mar Our stewards and welcoming team.
Wed 13 Mar Our church staff: Family Worker Katharyne Crosse, Facilities Manager Stephen Riley and Church Administrator Christy Perry.
Thu 14 Mar Our flower ministry as a reflection of God’s creation.
Fri 15 Mar Our Organist Aelred Smuland, the choir and the worship band, sharing music as a part of God’s creativity.
Sat 16 Mar Our Interim Moderator, the Revd Martin Ferris.
Refugees
Sun 17 Mar UNHCR, which states that there are 68.5 million forcibly displaced people in the world. 40 million are internally displaced. 57% of refugees came from 3 countries: Syria, Afghanistan and South Sudan. The top refugee-hosting countries are Turkey, Pakistan, Uganda, Iran and Lebanon.
Mon 18 Mar UNHCR, which employs 16 765 people. 90% are based in the field; keep them safe and bless their work.
Tue 19 Mar Mercy Corps, a team of global humanitarians who work to relieve suffering, poverty and oppression by helping people build secure, productive and just communities.
Wed 20 Mar Care, a Christian charity which helps refugees with emergency support and help with the psychosocial effects of experiencing conflict and violence, particularly sexual and gender-based violence.
Thu 21 Mar The Refugee Council, a UK based charity working directly with refugees, supporting them and helping them to rebuild their lives.
Fri 22 Mar Refugee Action in the UK, which gives support and advice to refugees struggling with the asylum process, poverty and homelessness.
Sat 23 Mar The Children’s Society, which supports and keeps safe young refugees and migrant people.
Christian organisations
Sun 24 Mar Sutton Community Works, including the Foodbank, Street Pastors, School Pastors, Job Club, Linking Lives and Prayer for Sutton.
Mon 25 Mar Sutton Schoolswork, its director Simon Ellingham, Sarah Skinner working in primary schools and Kate Travers in secondary schools.
Tue 26 Mar Churches Together in Sutton and Cheam.
Wed 27 Mar The Bible Society.
Thu 28 Mar URC’s Commitment for Life and Christian Aid.
Fri 29 Mar Premier Christian Radio and other Christian radio stations around the world.
Sat 30 Mar Scripture Union, bringing the Bible to young people and children.
Poverty in the UK
Sun 31 Mar The 4.1 million children who are living in poverty in the UK, as are 4 million workers. Both of these figures are increasing, according to the Joseph Rowntree Foundation’s 2018 report.
Mon 1 Apr Christians Against Poverty, which is tackling the main causes of poverty: debt, unemployment, life-affecting habits or lack of life skills. They give debt advice to people in their own homes.
Tue 2 Apr The Trussell Trust, which aims to end hunger and poverty in UK by food banks and also campaigns for change to end the need for food banks.
Wed 3 Apr Habitat for Humanity Great Britain, which is addressing housing poverty in the UK by renovating homes, investing in communities and building affordable homes.
Thu 4 Apr The 27% of Londoners who, according to Trust for London, live below the poverty line as against 21% in the rest of the country. Housing costs are an important factor.
Fri 5 Apr People in fuel poverty, where, according to government statistics, white households are less likely to be than those from all other ethnic groups combined.
Sat 6 Apr Acts 435, which is a Christian website allowing people to donate money directly to those that need, for something as simple as a new washing machine.
Supporting communities worldwide
Sun 7 Apr Oxfam, which helps the hungry and refugees.
Mon 8 Apr Tearfund, which tackles poverty. Its call is to follow Jesus where the need is greatest.
Tue 9 Apr The Cools family working for Mission Aviation Fellowship in Australia.
Wed 10 Apr Bibi Nédellec and Wycliffe Bible Translators.
Thu 11 Apr Fair trade and Traidcraft, which help farmers in developing countries.
Fri 12 Apr Christian Solidarity Worldwide, working for religious freedom through advocacy and human rights.
Sat 13 Apr The persecuted church worldwide.
Spiritual growth at St Andrew’s
Sun 14 Apr Sunday morning worship.
Mon 15 Apr Our house and study groups: may they grow in faith as they study the Bible together.
Tue 16 Apr Our all-age service leaders in the way they share God’s love.
Wed 17 Apr Our Wednesday morning prayer group.
Thu 18 Apr Our Junior Church leaders and children as they share God’s word and love.
Fri 19 Apr Personal and church renewal and growth.
Sat 20 Apr Our church library: may the congregation use this to encourage their faith.
Supporting the local community
Sun 21 Apr Jelly Beans, for children and teachers as they learn in a Christian environment.
Mon 22 Apr Jumping Jacks and Who let the Dads out?: may children and families feel the love that comes from coming to a church group.
Tue 23 Apr Local nursing homes, Willow Lodge and Eothen, for staff, residents and service.
Wed 24 Apr Abbeyfield homes: for residents, staff and volunteers.
Thu 25 Apr Housebound members of the congregation and anyone you know who is ill.
Fri 26 Apr Our Chapel, open weekdays for public use: may the local community feel welcome to come in.
Sat 27 Apr Our uniformed organisations: for children, young people and leaders.
Health care worldwide
Sun 28 Apr UNICEF, which gives life-saving vaccines to children to prevent diseases such as measles, polio, tetanus, TB and diphtheria.
Mon 29 Apr Christian Aid, which helps with community health programmes worldwide on nutrition, malaria, HIV, maternal and child health.
Tue 30 Apr Those with poor eyesight. WHO states that globally 1.3 billion people live with some vision impairment, about 80% of which is avoidable. Sightsavers is working in some of the poorest parts of the world to combat this.
Wed 1 May WHO, which in January 2019 airlifted medical supplies to meet increasing health needs in Syria.
Thu 2 May Water Aid, which works worldwide where cholera remains a major disease, resulting in deaths which vaccines and improved water and sanitation can control.
Fri 3 May The millions of people still affected by leprosy every year. Lack of knowledge and understanding still makes this a difficult disease to treat. The Leprosy Mission works with governments to ensure medical staff are adequately trained.
Sat 4 May The many children worldwide who are living with untreated facial clefts, leading to difficulties eating, breathing, hearing and speaking. Operation Smile trains local doctors so they can do corrective surgery in their communities.

Scripture quotations marked GNT are from the Good News Translation in Today’s English Version - Second Edition.
Copyright © 1992 by American Bible Society. Used by Permission.

fox-transient