St Andrew’s United Reformed Church, Cheam
St Andrew’s Cheam
To know Christ and to make Christ known

St Andrew’s prayer diary

About the prayer diary

First of all, then, I urge that petitions, prayers, requests, and thanksgivings be offered to God for all people. 1 Timothy 2:1 GNT

Sheila May

This diary has been created by Sheila May to help us focus our prayers on matters that mean a lot to us.

When we bring our prayers to God, can we really think about and maybe find out information from the internet or publications so we are more informed and can pray more powerfully? Think about the subject of the day and try to relate personally with it: is there something we should be doing, or is it something you want to find out about? Try speaking to others at St Andrew’s as we all have different knowledge to share.

Today, Wednesday 20 June 2018, please pray for:
Migrants Resource Centre helps asylum seekers with help and advice and run language course.

And in the days to come please pray for ...

The unemployed
Thu 21 Jun The Prince’s Trust helps 16-30 year olds gain work experience, skills, training and confidence to get employment
Fri 22 Jun Springboard charity supports the unemployed of all ages into work in hospitality, leisure and tourism careers.
Sat 23 Jun Sutton Community Works runs job clubs to help people with writing CVs and going for interviews.
Spiritual growth at St Andrew’s
Sun 24 Jun Sunday morning worship.
Mon 25 Jun House Groups: may they grow in faith as they study the Bible together.
Tue 26 Jun All-age service leaders in the way they share God’s love.
Wed 27 Jun Wednesday morning prayer group.
Thu 28 Jun Junior Church leaders and children as they share God’s word and love.
Fri 29 Jun Pray for personal and church renewal and growth.
Sat 30 Jun Church library: may the congregation use this to encourage their faith.
Spiritual growth at St Andrew’s
Sun 1 Jul Sunday morning worship.
Mon 2 Jul House Groups: may they grow in faith as they study the bible together.
Tue 3 Jul All-age service leaders, in the way they share God’s love.
Wed 4 Jul Wednesday morning prayer group.
Thu 5 Jul Junior Church leaders and children as they share God’s word and love.
Fri 6 Jul Personal and church renewal and growth.
Sat 7 Jul Our calling of a new minister.
Supporting communities worldwide
Sun 8 Jul Mission Aviation Fellowship. The Cools family in Mareeba and their goal of getting to Arnhem.
Mon 9 Jul Tearfund, tackling poverty. Its call is to follow Jesus where the need is greatest.
Tue 10 Jul Bibi Nedellec with Wycliffe Bible Translators.
Wed 11 Jul Fair Trade and Traidcraft, helping farmers in developing countries.
Thu 12 Jul Christian Solidarity Worldwide, working for religious freedom through advocacy and human rights in such places as Nigeria, Cuba, Pakistan and China.
Fri 13 Jul The persecuted church worldwide.
Sat 14 Jul Water Aid.
Children
Sun 15 Jul All children who come to activities at St Andrew’s, and for the church picnic.
Mon 16 Jul Jelly Beans, for children and teachers as they learn in a Christian environment.
Tue 17 Jul Our uniformed organisations: for children, young people and leaders.
Wed 18 Jul Sutton SchoolsWork: Cat Hubbard for secondary schools and Sarah Skinner for primary schools as they go into school holidays.
Thu 19 Jul Scripture Union, bringing the Bible to young people and children.
Fri 20 Jul Children living in poverty, unfit accommodation or unstable homes.
Sat 21 Jul Save the Children in the UK, supporting families in their homes, nurseries, schools and communities.
Refugees
Sun 22 Jul Syrian refugees, as they enter the 8th year of conflict scattered around the world but mainly still in neighbouring countries.
Mon 23 Jul Syrian refugees in Jordan, who face increased health care costs since March this year as Jordan battles with the cost of 650 000 refugees over 6 years.
Tue 24 Jul The UNHCR, which works with refugees in 130 countries. 87% of their staff work in the field assisting the most vulnerable and supporting local governments.
Wed 25 Jul Afghanistan, which has nearly 2.5 million refugees and worsening security and increasing violence are driving more to leave their homes.
Thu 26 Jul The 70 % of the population in the Gaza strip who have been refugees since 1948. 80% depend on humanitarian assistance due to the 10 year Israeli blockade.
Fri 27 Jul Violence and instability in countries like Iraq and Yemen, which still triggers waves of displacement.
Sat 28 Jul The Refugee Council advocacy network which supports refugees and people seeking asylum in UK.
Those working for St Andrew’s
Sun 29 Jul Our elders, pastoral visitors, and pastoral coordinator - Jenni Dickinson.
Mon 30 Jul Our church secretary, Nigel Macdonald; the Management Committee, and our treasurer, Alan Walls.
Tue 31 Jul Our stewards and welcoming team.
Wed 1 Aug Our church staff, Stephen Riley, Christy Perry, and Katharyne Crosse.
Thu 2 Aug Our flower ministry as a reflection of God’s Creation.
Fri 3 Aug Our organist, Aelred Smuland, the choir and the worship band, sharing music as a part of God’s creativity.
Sat 4 Aug Our Interim Moderator, the Revd Martin Ferris.
God’s creation
Sun 5 Aug The wonder of the world and that we may be encouraged to look after it.
Mon 6 Aug The demonstration of God’s power in the natural world: wind, sun and water.
Tue 7 Aug Our celebration of the diversity of mankind and our efforts to end intolerance and discrimination.
Wed 8 Aug Furthering our knowledge of science and engineering to find more sustainable ways of living.
Thu 9 Aug Our reflections on God’s love for us as we learn to share food and wealth throughout the world.
Fri 10 Aug The gift of rest and holidays.
Sat 11 Aug The created world and for governments to make sound decisions to sustain our world.
Supporting local community
Sun 12 Aug Watt-A-Lot Castle Holiday Club: for those organising it and for the children who attend.
Mon 13 Aug Local nursing homes Willow Lodge and Eothen for staff, residents and service.
Tue 14 Aug Abbeyfield homes: for residents, staff and volunteers.
Wed 15 Aug Housebound members of the congregation and anyone you know who is ill.
Thu 16 Aug Our chapel which is open weekdays for public use: may the local community feel welcome to come in.
Fri 17 Aug Sutton SchoolsWork, getting a Christian message out to children in schools.
Sat 18 Aug Jumping Jacks and Who let the Dads out?: may children and families feel the love that comes from coming to a church group.
End of life
Sun 19 Aug Those affected by suicide, which is the largest killer of men under 45 years old. Samaritans can be contacted via phone, email, written letters or face to face.
Mon 20 Aug CALM campaigns against living miserably and offers web-chat service for people contemplating suicide.
Tue 21 Aug The around 23 000 people a year who die leaving a child under age of 18 years. Child Bereavement UK supports families and educates professionals when a baby or child is dying or when a child is facing bereavement.
Wed 22 Aug Those terminally ill and their families.
Thu 23 Aug Those with chronic health conditions and their families and carers.
Fri 24 Aug Professionals and charities that support: Macmillan Nurses, hospices, GPs and health care workers.
Sat 25 Aug Family carers and child carers and those bereaved, give them your love and support.
Christian organisations
Sun 26 Aug The Bible Society.
Mon 27 Aug Churches Together in Sutton and Cheam.
Tue 28 Aug Sutton Community Works, including Sutton Foodbank, Street Pastors and Sutton Seniors.
Wed 29 Aug URC Commitment for Life and Christian Aid.
Thu 30 Aug Premier Christian Radio and other Christian radio stations around the world.
Fri 31 Aug Southern Synod officers Revd Nicola Furley-Smith (Moderator), Revd Derrick Dzandu-Hedidor (Synod Clerk) and John Denison (Treasurer),
Sat 1 Sep The URC, especially General Assembly Moderators Revd Kevin Watson, Mr Alan Yates and General Secretary Revd John Proctor.

Scripture quotations marked GNT are from the Good News Translation in Today’s English Version - Second Edition.
Copyright © 1992 by American Bible Society. Used by Permission.

fox-transient