St Andrew’s United Reformed Church, Cheam
St Andrew’s Cheam
To know Christ and to make Christ known

St Andrew’s prayer diary

About the prayer diary

Lord hear us. Lord, forgive us. Lord, listen to us, and act! Daniel 9:19 GNT

Sheila May

This diary has been created by Sheila May to help us focus our prayers on matters that mean a lot to us.

When we bring our prayers to God, can we really think about and maybe find out information from the internet or publications so we are more informed and can pray more powerfully? Think about the subject of the day and try to relate personally with it: is there something we should be doing, or is it something you want to find out about? Try speaking to others at St Andrew’s as we all have different knowledge to share.

About this week’s prayer topic

You are the people of God: he loved you and chose you for his own. So then you must clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Colossians 3:12 GNT

Today, Sunday 19 August 2018, please pray for:
Those affected by suicide, which is the largest killer of men under 45 years old. Samaritans can be contacted via phone, email, written letters or face to face.

And in the days to come please pray for ...

End of life
Mon 20 Aug CALM campaigns against living miserably and offers web-chat service for people contemplating suicide.
Tue 21 Aug The around 23 000 people a year who die leaving a child under age of 18 years. Child Bereavement UK supports families and educates professionals when a baby or child is dying or when a child is facing bereavement.
Wed 22 Aug Those terminally ill and their families.
Thu 23 Aug Those with chronic health conditions and their families and carers.
Fri 24 Aug Professionals and charities that support: Macmillan Nurses, hospices, GPs and health care workers.
Sat 25 Aug Family carers and child carers and those bereaved, give them your love and support.
Christian organisations
Sun 26 Aug The Bible Society.
Mon 27 Aug Churches Together in Sutton and Cheam.
Tue 28 Aug Sutton Community Works, including Sutton Foodbank, Street Pastors and Sutton Seniors.
Wed 29 Aug URC Commitment for Life and Christian Aid.
Thu 30 Aug Premier Christian Radio and other Christian radio stations around the world.
Fri 31 Aug Southern Synod officers Revd Nicola Furley-Smith (Moderator), Revd Derrick Dzandu-Hedidor (Synod Clerk) and John Denison (Treasurer),
Sat 1 Sep The URC, especially General Assembly Moderators Revd Kevin Watson, Mr Alan Yates and General Secretary Revd John Proctor.
Spiritual growth at St Andrew’s
Sun 2 Sep Sunday morning worship.
Mon 3 Sep House Groups: may they grow in faith as they study the Bible together.
Tue 4 Sep All-age service leaders in the way they share God’s love.
Wed 5 Sep Wednesday morning prayer group.
Thu 6 Sep Junior Church leaders and children as they share God’s word and love.
Fri 7 Sep Personal and church renewal and growth.
Sat 8 Sep A new minister to be found for St Andrew’s.
Those in positions of power
Sun 9 Sep Political leaders in Parliament and at local level: may they lead with wisdom and compassion.
Mon 10 Sep World Presidents and Prime Ministers.
Tue 11 Sep Religious leaders of all faiths.
Wed 12 Sep Southern Synod Officers: Revd Nicola Furley-Smith (Moderator), Revd Derrick Dzandu-Hedidor (Synod Clerk) and Revd Andy Twilley (training and development).
Thu 13 Sep The URC, especially General Assembly moderators Revd Kevin Watson and Mr Alan Yates, and General Secretary Revd John Proctor.
Fri 14 Sep Brexit negotiations.
Sat 15 Sep School teachers, in their responsibility to teach our children well.
Supporting the local community
Sun 16 Sep Jelly Beans: for children and teachers as they learn in a Christian environment
Mon 17 Sep Jumping Jacks and Who let the Dads out?: may children and families feel the love that comes from coming to a church group.
Tue 18 Sep Local nursing homes Willow Lodge and Eothen: for staff, residents and Sunday service.
Wed 19 Sep Abbeyfield homes: for residents, staff and volunteers.
Thu 20 Sep Housebound members of the congregation and anyone you know who is ill.
Fri 21 Sep Our Chapel, open weekdays for public use; may the local community feel welcome to come in.
Sat 22 Sep Our uniformed organisations: for children, young people and leaders.
Christian organisations
Sun 23 Sep The Bible Society.
Mon 24 Sep Churches Together in Sutton and Cheam
Tue 25 Sep Sutton Community Works, including Sutton Foodbank, Street Pastors and Sutton Seniors.
Wed 26 Sep URC Commitment for Life and Christian Aid.
Thu 27 Sep Premier Christian Radio and other Christian radio stations around the world.
Fri 28 Sep Sutton SchoolsWork: Director Simon Ellingham and Sarah Skinner, primary schools worker.
Sat 29 Sep Scripture Union, bringing the Bible to young people and children.
The sea
Sun 30 Sep Giving thanks for the great oceans and seas: may we learn to look after this precious resource.
Mon 1 Oct WWF, trying to change the way we work with businesses and governments to protect our wildlife, rivers, forests and seas.
Tue 2 Oct The Fishermen’s Mission: providing for both active and retired fishermen with practical help, spiritual and financial support as well as emergency help. More than 13,000 people work in fishing in the UK.
Wed 3 Oct The Maritime and Coastguard Agency, responsible for search and rescue at sea or on the shoreline.
Thu 4 Oct The Royal Navy, whose roles include providing humanitarian assistance, preventing conflict and protecting our economy and security.
Fri 5 Oct The RNLI. 200 people each year in UK die on or near the sea. RNLI has 31,500 volunteers and 340 lifeboats and saved 442 lives last year. 92% of their funding comes from donations.
Sat 6 Oct Those that live in areas prone to flooding such as Bangladesh caused by monsoons, Nepal due to deforestation and others due to rising sea levels. Significant river flooding is common in India and China.
Poverty
Sun 7 Oct Compassion, a Christian charity which works to support children in poverty world-wide.
Mon 8 Oct Care, an international charity which has been fighting poverty in the world’s poorest countries for 70 years.
Tue 9 Oct The fight against poverty, which needs clean water to stop preventable deaths from dirty water.
Wed 10 Oct Only 71% of global population has clean water. Water Aid is working to improve this.
Thu 11 Oct Hunger is preventable but requires knowledge and action. Oxfam works to support communities with education and tools to help lift communities out of poverty.
Fri 12 Oct Christian Aid also works with communities to learn better ways to farm and to educate women and children.
Sat 13 Oct Poverty often makes access to healthcare more difficult. WHO is working to increase vaccination coverage to protect against diseases such as Hepatitis B, Measles, Meningitis, Rotaviruses (diarrhoeal disease), tetanus and yellow fever.
Health
Sun 14 Oct Thanks for our good health.
Mon 15 Oct The NHS for adequate funding and all those who work there.
Tue 16 Oct Those with mental health issues and addictions and their families.
Wed 17 Oct The Rainbow Trust helping to support sick children and their families.
Thu 18 Oct Those living with disabilities or illness.
Fri 19 Oct Hospices, Macmillan nurses, hospital and community services supporting people with serious illness.
Sat 20 Oct Samaritans, for all their work via email, phone or in person supporting people with many issues.
Those working for St Andrew’s
Sun 21 Oct Our elders, pastoral visitors and Pastoral Coordinator Jenni Dickinson.
Mon 22 Oct Our Church Secretary, Nigel Macdonald; the Management Committee chaired by Nigel Dickinson, and our Treasurer, Alan Walls.
Tue 23 Oct Our stewards and welcoming team.
Wed 24 Oct Our church staff: Katharyne Crosse (Family Worker), Christy Perry (Church Administrator), Stephen Riley (Facilities Manager) and Svenja Doepel (Cleaner).
Thu 25 Oct Our flower ministry as a reflection of God’s Creation.
Fri 26 Oct Our organist, Aelred Smuland, the choir and the worship band, sharing music as a part of God’s creativity.
Sat 27 Oct Our Interim Moderator, the Revd Martin Ferris.
Supporting communities worldwide
Sun 28 Oct Tearfund, tackling poverty by working with Christian churches and communities in areas of great need worldwide.
Mon 29 Oct Hans Cools and family working for Mission Aviation Fellowship in Australia.
Tue 30 Oct Bibi Nedellec with Wycliffe Bible Translators.
Wed 31 Oct Fair Trade and Traidcraft, helping farmers in developing countries.
Thu 1 Nov Christian Solidarity Worldwide, working for religious freedom through advocacy and human right in such places as Nigeria, Cuba, Pakistan and China.
Fri 2 Nov The persecuted church worldwide.
Sat 3 Nov Oxfam, helping the hungry and refugees.

Scripture quotations marked GNT are from the Good News Translation in Today’s English Version - Second Edition.
Copyright © 1992 by American Bible Society. Used by Permission.