St Andrew’s United Reformed Church, Cheam
St Andrew’s Cheam
To know Christ and to make Christ known

St Andrew’s prayer diary

About the prayer diary

Let us give thanks to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the merciful Father, the God from whom all help comes! 2 Corinthians 1:3 GNT

Sheila May

This diary has been created by Sheila May to help us focus our prayers on matters that mean a lot to us.

When we bring our prayers to God, can we really think about and maybe find out information from the internet or publications so we are more informed and can pray more powerfully? Think about the subject of the day and try to relate personally with it: is there something we should be doing, or is it something you want to find out about? Try speaking to others at St Andrew’s as we all have different knowledge to share.

Today, Sunday 16 December 2018, please pray for:
Elders, pastoral visitors and our Pastoral Coordinator, Jenni Dickinson.

And in the days to come please pray for ...

Those working for St Andrew’s
Mon 17 Dec Our Church Secretary, Nigel Macdonald, our Management Committee, and Treasurer, Alan Walls.
Tue 18 Dec Our stewards and welcoming team.
Wed 19 Dec Our church staff, Family Worker Katharyne Crosse, Facilities Manager Stephen Riley and Church Administrator Christy Perry,
Thu 20 Dec Our flower ministry as a reflection of God’s Creation
Fri 21 Dec Our organist Aelred Smuland, the choir and the worship band, sharing music as a part of God’s creativity.
Sat 22 Dec Our Interim Moderator, the Revd Martin Ferris.
Christian Solidarity Worldwide
Sun 23 Dec CSW, which believes in the power of prayer to transform situations and wants us all to pray for the cases and issues they work on. They issue a prayer diary on their website for current issues they want prayer for.
Mon 24 Dec CSW, which trains, equips and empowers by working with activists, journalists and religious leaders.
Tue 25 Dec Those who cannot celebrate Jesus’s birth in public.
Wed 26 Dec Those affected by the assassination by members of an illegal armed group of a Colombian Pastor in September.
Thu 27 Dec The ten pastors along with their family members arrested whilst participating in a Sunday church service in state of Uttar Pradesh, India, in September.
Fri 28 Dec Christians in China, where the government is intensifying a crackdown on churches across the country affecting both Protestant and Catholic churches. Since February they have demolished 20 churches and 100 crosses,
Sat 29 Dec Christians in Iran: Lord, you are indeed the God who sets prisoners free and upholds the cause of the oppressed. We continue to lift to you those in Iran who receive long prison sentences for taking part in normal church activities. Grant them protection, provision and ultimately freedom.
Christian organisations
Sun 30 Dec Hans Cool and his family working for Mission Aviation Fellowship in Australia.
Mon 31 Dec Tearfund, tackling poverty. Its call is to follow Jesus where the need is greatest.
Tue 1 Jan Fair Trade and Traidcraft, helping farmers in developing countries.
Wed 2 Jan Sutton Community Works, including Sutton Foodbank, Sutton Street Pastors and other projects.
Thu 3 Jan URC Commitment for Life and Christian Aid.
Fri 4 Jan Premier Christian Radio and other Christian radio stations around the world.
Sat 5 Jan Sutton Schoolswork. Director Simon Ellingham and Sarah Skinner, worker for primary schools.

Scripture quotations marked GNT are from the Good News Translation in Today’s English Version - Second Edition.
Copyright © 1992 by American Bible Society. Used by Permission.

fox-transient